First slide

Early Years Foundation Stage

We follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) British curriculum at Little Diamond Nursery. The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is a framework that provides standards and expectations for the development of children up to age five years. At Little Diamond Nursery, your child will be learning new skills, acquiring knowledge, and demonstrating their understanding through the seven areas of learning and development through a holistic, hands-on, and play-based approach

The following are the principles that guide our curriculum:

A Unique Child

We recognize that every child is a competent learner and has the capabilities to be dynamic, confident, and self-assured. The commitments are focused around development; inclusion; safety; and health and well-being.

Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person. The commitments are focused around respect; partnership with parents; supporting learning, and the role of the key person.

Enabling Environments

The environment plays an important role in supporting and extending children learnings. Our Environment focuses on assessment and planning, observations, learning environment; support for each child, child transitions, and continuity.

Learning and Development

We recognize that the children develop and learn in various ways and at various progressions and that all areas of development are equally important and connected to each other.


A modern play-based approach allows the following developmental areas/skills to be enhanced throughout your child’s time in our dynamic and child-focused setting:

7 Areas of Learning Early Learning Goals
Prime Areas of Learning
1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Making Relationships
  • Self-confidence and self-awareness
  • Managing Feelings and Behaviour
2. Physical Development
  • Moving and Handling
  • Health and Self-care
3. Communication and Language
  • Listening and Attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking
Specific Areas of Learning
4. Literacy
  • Reading
  • Writing
5. Numeracy
  • Numbers
  • Shape, Space and Measure
6. Understanding of the World
  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology
7. Expressive Arts and Design
  • Exploring and Using Media and Materials
  • Being Imaginative